Latest Stories

To accompany FACT’s own Best of 2012 features, we asked some of our favourite artists what their highlights of the year were. We’ll be rolling their answers out across the coming days. 


10. TNGHT – ‘Higher Ground’
09. LOL Boys – ‘Changes’ (Shlohmo remix)
08. Tame Impala – ‘Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything That We Could Control’
07. Todd Terje – ‘Inspector Norse’
06. Eprom – ‘Love Number’
05. Nosaj Thing – ‘Eclipse / Blue’
04. Gaslamp Killer – ‘Nissim’
03. Lorn – ‘Weigh Me Down’ (Mono/poly remix)
02. Every young beat producer avoiding the “Real Trap Shit” trap – Bames, Clicks & Whistles, LDFD, Morri$, Comma, Sinjin Hawke, NastyNasty, Snorlax, Raf Riley.
1. Machinedrum – his singles, LPs, collaborations (especially with Braille as Sepalcure), remixes, jukes, and even status updates have all been truth. In a year of new names and rising styles this gentleman has been a lighthouse.

A terrible loss in Austin Peralta who, through a few releases – and many appearances – showed great promises and reach far beyond his fingers’ breadth. Let’s keep his memory as we go into 2013 and beyond.

Ryan Hemsworth


Future – Pluto
Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City
How To Dress Well – Total Loss
Groundislava – Feel Me
Frank Ocean – Channel Orange
Supreme Cuts – Whispers In The Dark
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Trouble
Chief Keef – Back From The Dead
Jeremih – Late Nights with Jeremih
Grimes – Visions


S-Type – Billboard 
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – Shame 
Baauer – Dum Dum 
Shlohmo – Vacation 
Kitty Pryde – haha im sorry
Cashmere Cat – Mirror Maru 
LOL Boys – Changes 
Lockah – Please Lockah, Don’t Hurt ‘Em
Girl Unit – Club Rez 
Jesse Futerman – Fuse The Witches 

Semtek (Don’t Be Afraid)

01. Amir Alexander – ‘Gutter Flex’ (Argot)
02. Nyra – ‘Funf’ (Never Learnt)
03. Mr. Beatnick – Sun Goddess EP (Don’t Be Afraid)
04. Braiden – ‘Paganini’ (Rush Hour)
05. Typesun – ‘Heart Maths’ (Pev Remix) (Roots Elevation)
06. Christopher Rau – ‘Marbled World’ (Never Learnt)
07. A Sagittariun – ‘Carina’ (Elastic Dreams)
08. MGUN – ‘Harmnear’ (Wild Oats)
09. Mr. G – ‘Pulze’ (Warm Sounds)
10. Andy Blake – ‘Cave Paintings IV’ (Cave Paintings)
11. Orgue Electronique – ‘Our House’ (Kink & Neville Watson Remix) (Creme Organization)
12. Shifted – ‘Sickness By Means Of Clairvoyance’ (Our Circular Sound)


01. Bok Bok – ‘Dark Hearts’ remix (Night Slugs)
02. Bloom – ‘Quartz’ (Gobstopper)
03. Mumdance & Logos – ‘Drum Boss’ (Dub)
04. Fatima Al Qadiri – ‘Ghost Raid’ (Fade to Mind)
05. KW Griff feat. Pork Chop – ‘Bring in the Katz’ (Night Slugs)
06. Wen Vs Epoch – ‘Hydraulics’ (Egyptian Avenue)
07. Visionist – ‘Snakes’ (Dub)
08. Mr. Mitch – ‘Tash Wax’ (Gobstopper)
09. Wiley – ‘Colder’ (Samename remix) (Dub)
10. Sd Laika – ‘Spaceman Piff’ (Lost Codes)
11. DJ Soulja-man – ‘Eski-Tech’ (Body High)
12. Moleskin – ‘The Fantasy Between your lips’ (Dub)
13. Lakosa & IO – ‘Home Early’ (Pedro 123 remix) (Madtech records)
14. Bok Bok – ‘Silo Pass’ (Sir Spyro Remix) (Night Slugs)
15. Bloom – ‘Maze Temple’ (Forthcoming Lost Codes)

Trouble & Bass’s 10 Young Producers of 2012

Damn Kids
– Shox
Druid Cloak
Jason Burns
Guerilla Speakerz
Tony Quattro

Show Comments

Latest Stories