FACT Magazine: Music News, New Music.

Ghostly International release free ‘best of 2012′ compilation; Matthew Dear and ADULT. feature

Use your ← → arrow keys to navigate
  • published
    3 Jan 2013
  • tags
    Matthew Dear
  • share

Almost 15 years into the game, Matthew Dear’s Ghostly International have had another worthy year.

The label racked up some interesting short-form releases, including a fine HTRK/Tropic Of Cancer live session, a 12″ from Gold Panda and a great pair of Ultraísta remixes. A lush, louche LP from Dear (Beams) stood out, and albums from School Of Seven Bells and Shigeto also proved enjoyable. To toast the year that was, the label have now released a bumper collection of choice Ghostly material from the last 12 months.

Ghostly 2012 is 100% free-to-download, and features 14 familiar tracks. Starry-eyed synth musician Com Truise contributes Alfa Beach, and swonsome pop outfit School Of Seven Bells offer up ‘The Night’. A remix of Shigeto’s ‘Huron River Drive’ by Evenings and material from Mux Mool, Tycho and Ryuichi Sakamoto & Christopher Willits also feature. Some of the music is very old indeed: ADULT’s ‘Lost Love’ is plucked from the re-release of 2001′s Resuscitation LP Dear himself also appears, in the form of Beams highlight (and Joy Division nod) ‘Earthforms’ and a Poolside remix of ‘Her Fantasy’.

Head here to download.

Adult – Lost Love
Beacon – Feeling’s Gone (Fort Romeau’s Shibuya Edit)
Choir Of Young Believers – Sedated
Com Truise – Alfa Beach
Heathered Pearls – Beach Shelter
Matthew Dear – Earthforms
Matthew Dear- Her Fantasy (Poolside Remix)
Michna – Through The City On The Edge of Forever
Mux Mool – Raw Gore
School Of Seven Bells – The Night
Shigeto – Huron River Drive (Evenings Remix)
Tycho – A Walk (Kolombo Remix)
Willits & Sakamoto – Completion


FACT is the UK's best online music magazine and home to the weekly FACT mix series.
All content © 2012-2014 by The Vinyl Factory. All rights reserved.