FACT Magazine: Music News, New Music.

The Knife share video, reveal tracklist; Shaking The Habitual is 98 minutes long

Use your ← → arrow keys to navigate
  • published
    25 Jan 2013
  • tags
    The Knife
  • share

The Knife reveal tracklist; <em>Shaking The Habitual</em> is 98 minutes long

The album will be a double CD and a triple vinyl.

The first proper Knife album since 2006′s Silent Shout is due out April 8 (April 9 in the US) through Rabid / Brille / Mute. As revealed by the below tracklist (via Pitchfork), the mysterious Swedish duo are returning in epic fashion.

Shaking The Habitual includes 13 songs, ranging from two sub-minute interludes to a 19-minute ‘Old Dreams Waiting to Be Realized’. Light Asylum’s Shannon Funchess features on “Stay Out Here”.

Lead single ‘Full of Fire’ is due out on Tuesday (after leaking and subsequently disappearing yesterday). The Knife will embark on a European tour in April and May.

Update: The Knife have released a bizarre short film for ‘Full of Fire’. According to Pitchfork, the piece is directed by feminist porn creator Marit Østberg. As outlandish as the song it accompanies, the video includes bondage, first-person POV motorcycle rides, protests, and plenty of other unforgettable imagery.

Shaking the Habitual:
01 A Tooth for an Eye 6:04
02 Full of Fire 9:17
03 A Cherry on Top 8:43
04 Without You My Life Would Be Boring 5:14
05 Wrap Your Arms Around Me 4:36
06 Crake 0:55
07 Old Dreams Waiting to Be Realized 19:22
08 Raging Lung 9:58
09 Networking 6:42
10 Oryx 0:37
11 Stay Out Here 10:42
12 Fracking Fluid Injection 9:54
13 Ready to Lose 4:36


FACT is the UK's best online music magazine and home to the weekly FACT mix series.
All content © 2012-2014 by The Vinyl Factory. All rights reserved.