Robert Wyatt will release a new album on October 11, entitled For The Ghosts Within.

Billed as a “song cycle”, it’s a collaboration with saxophonist/composer Gilad Atzmon and violinist/composer Ros Stephen, and accordingly credited to Wyatt, Atzmon, Stephen. It features a number of original Wyatt songs alongside standards such as ‘Round Midnight’ and ‘In A Sentimental Mood’. Domino Records, who will release For The Ghosts Within on CD, vinyl and digital on October 11, describe it as placing Wyatt’s voice “amid the seductive drama of string quartet, alto saxophone, and the universal rhythms of the night”.

Wyatt, who first rose to prominence in the late 1960s and ’70s as drummer with jazz-influenced proggers Soft Machine, has become one of Britain’s most distinguished and distinctive solo artists and collaborators. Much of his sprawling catalogue was recently reissued by Domino, including such classic albums as Rock Bottom (1974), Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard (1975) and Cuckooland (2003).

1.    Laura
2.    Lullaby For Irene
3.    The Ghosts Within
4.    Where Are They Now
5.    Maryan
6.    Round Midnight
7.    Lush Life
8.    What’s New
9.    In A Sentimental Mood
10.    At Last I Am Free
11.    What  A Wonderful World

Latest Stories


Share Tweet