California’s full of overlooked beat-makers bordering on genius, and one of the best around is Computer Jay.

As is often the case, Computer Jay spreads his talent across various projects, including studio collaborations with Steve Cooper, Dam-Funk (he’s also a part of Dam’s live band) and Sa-Ra’s Shafiq Husayn, as well as various members of the magic circle of Los Angeles’ crate-digging community.

With a vast musical range that takes in boogie, G-Funk, classic computer games and everything in between, we consider him one of music’s most underrated, and when Phonica offered us the chance to host this live recording, from last year’s party they threw with Ramp Recordings, who’ll be releasing a new Computer Jay album this year titled Switched ON, we jumped at it.

Tracklist (all tracks by Computer Jay):

1. Eh Man
2. Hvrkrft Remix (for Blu Jemz)
3. Rare Type
4. Distance
5. Visa Stamp
6. High School Bum Rush
7. Whip
8. Epiphany
9. Vice
10. Computer’s Rhythm
11. Slapper
12. Phantom
13. When I Bang Music
14. Amiss remix(for Long lost)
15. Maintain Rework (Mike Slott)
16. Zoom
17. Unknown chamber
18. Centipede (Master Blazter)
19. What Should I think of you?
20. Slipping
21. Conflictions of a Space Traveler
22. Test
23. Zone out
24. Slave loop
25. Dream Rotunda

Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy