Kanye may have just made number one, but his old sparring partner Jay-Z is coming for him.

The Roc-a-fella boss is preparing to release his latest album, Magna Carta Holy Grail. So far details are scarce: we know that Timbaland, Swizz Beatz, Pharrell and Rick Rubin are involved (as are Justin Timberlake and Nas too, if this photo is anything to go by), and that it’ll be released on July 4 – though Samsung Galaxy users will be able to grab it earlier, on June 24 (more on that here). Oh, and it riffs on Nirvana.

Now, as reported by hip-hop blogger Miss Info, the Magna Carta tracklist has been revealed via a New York City scavenger hunt, where fans received a limited edition book that listed the info (see the video below). That tracklist follows – in other Jay news, he’s now a fully licensed sports agent, and Watch the Throne II looks like it’s due next year.

Update: continuing his assault on new media, Jay-Z has now leaked a selection the lyrics from forthcoming single ‘Holy Grail’ via a special Samsung app. It’s the track that Courtney Love had to approve and yep, those Nirvana lyrics actually happened. Check the image below for proof.

Update 2: Let’s hope this isn’t a trend, but Jay-Z has also released the lyrics for ‘Heaven’. As on ‘Holy Grail’, it looks like someone has been listening to alt-rock: peep the reference to REM’s ‘Losing My Religion’. [via Potholes]


1. Picasso Baby
2. Heaven
3. Versus
4. Tom Ford
5. Beach Is Better
6. FuckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt
7. Oceans
8. F.U.T.W.
9. Part II (On The Run)
10. BBC
11. La Familia
12. Jay-Z Blue
13. Nickles & Dimes

Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy