Angel Olsen has announced her third studio album, MY WOMAN.

The American singer, songwriter and guitarist, who started out singing with Bonnie “Prince” Billy’s band, floored us in 2014 with Burn Your Fire For No Witness, a collection of shadowy and strangely timeless songs drawing on folk, garage rock, country blues and Leonard Cohen.

The press release for MY WOMAN promises a departure from the hushed moods of that album and is split into an A-side and B-side in old-fashioned style, with “punchier, more pop/rock-oriented songs” up front and “longer, more reflective tracks” towards the end. “Because these new songs demanded a plurality of voices, Olsen sings in a much broader range of styles,” the label notes. “Her disarming, timeless voice is even more front-and-centre than before.”

The album was recorded live to tape at LA’s historic Vox Studios with producer Justin Raisen, who’s worked with Charli XCX, Sky Ferreira and Santigold. Guitarist Seth Kauffman was brought in to augment her regular band of bassist Emily Elhaj, drummer Joshua Jaeger and guitarist Stewart Bronaugh.

Her previously guitar-led setup is bolstered this time with synths and Mellotron, as on the striking first single ‘Intern’, a sparse and chilly affair that nods to Angelo Badalamenti’s timeless pieces for David Lynch – watch the video below.

MY WOMAN is out September 2 via Jagjaguwar, Rough Trade and Amazon. Olsen is also heading out on a tour of epic proportions this month, beginning in North America and taking in a trip to ATP Iceland in July before arriving in Europe for a full tour in October. Check out the dates below.

Tracklist:

01. Intern
02. Never Be Mine
03. Shut Up Kiss Me
04. Give It Up
05. Not Gonna Kill You
06. Heart Shaped Face
07. Sister
08. Those Were The Days
09. Woman
10. Pops

Tour dates:

Thu. June 16 – Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater #
Fri. June 17 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #
Sat. June 18 – Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium #
Sun. June 19 – Winnipeg. MB @ Park Theatre #
Tue. June 21 – Saskatoon, SK @ Amigo’s #
Wed. June 22 – Calgary, AB @ Sled Island – Central United Church
Fri. June 24 – Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. June 25 – Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. Jul. 2 – Reykjavík @ ATP Iceland
Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater *
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre *
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Hudson, NY @ Basilica Soundscape
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw *
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Sep. 21 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair &
Thu. Sep. 22 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Ballroom &
Fri. Sep. 23 – Montreal, QC @ POP Montreal &
Sat. Sep. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Virgin Mobile Mod Club &
Mon. Sep. 26 – Detroit, MI @ The Loving Touch &
Tue. Sep. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Fri. Sep. 30 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Sat. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle &
Thu. Oct. 13 – Brighton @ Concorde 2
Fri. Oct. 14 – Manchester @ Club Academy
Sat. Oct. 15 – Glasgow @ SWG3 Studio Warehouse
Sun. Oct. 16 – Bristol @ The Marble Factory
Mon. Oct. 17 – London @ KOKO
Wed. Oct. 19 – Hamburg @ Kampnagel
Thu. Oct. 20 – Copenhagen @ Koncerthuset, Studie 2
Fri. Oct. 21 – Oslo @ John Dee
Sat. Oct. 22 – Stockholm @ Debaser Strand
Sun. Oct. 23 – Goeteborg @ Pustervik
Tue. Oct. 25 – Berlin @ Columbia Theater
Wed. Oct. 26 – Munich @ Ampere
Thu. Oct. 27 – Zuerich @ Bogen F
Fri. Oct. 28 – Koeln @ Stadtgarten
Sat. Oct. 29 – Brussels @ Botanique
Fri. Nov. 4 – Paris @ La Gaîté Lyrique

# = with Scott Tuma
^ = with Termination Dust
* = with Alex Cameron
& = with Rodrigo Amarante

Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet
+

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy