Mixes I by I 04.07.16

FACT mix 558: Strict Face

Here comes a tropical storm.

Thank the magic of high-speed internet for the bounty of eerie club mutations and emotional bangers offered up so far by young producer Strict Face, whose releases on Mr. Mitch’s Gobstopper, Mumdance and Logos’ Different Circles and Nina Las Vegas’ NLV Records have found him channelling the sounds of London, New Jersey, Atlanta and beyond through his base in Adelaide, Australia.

Fun times are at the core of Strict Face’s vivid and muscular approach to the dancefloor, with his recent refix of Britney’s ‘Toxic’ a case in point, and on his high-octane FACT mix he shows us just how deftly he can weave and bob between screwface riddims, sweetboy melodies, jackhammer kicks, the Thong Song and, in the final furlong, slo-mo ambient romance.

Look out for fresh bits from Strict Face’s own Sea Lion Gang (Glot, Jawside), Boxed grime explorers (Spooky, Tarquin, Grizzle), hip-hop stylists (Travis Scott, Snow Tha Product) and various friends and fam from travels behind the booth (Finn, T_A_M, DJ Milktray). It’s a total joyride of a mix – get it on loud, for god’s sake.


Hi Tom – ‘Rituals’
MM – ‘Quick Bubbling Tool’
Loom – ‘Tokyo Cleanse’
Most Actual – ‘Makula’
Fox – ‘Uptown Downtown’
Wizkid – ‘Like This’
Fallow & Marcx – ‘Lose Sight’
Tarquin – ‘Trebbled’
Mike Gip – ‘Make Ya Booty Go’ (ft. R3LL)
Big Dope P – ‘Off Da Bottle’ (DJ Sliink Remix)
Romance Streams – ‘Sky Empire’
Murlo – ‘At The Start’
Shriekin – ‘Platinum Slopes’
Snow Tha Product – ‘Get Down Low’ (ft. Ohana Bam)
Jawside – ‘In Bloom’
Drone – ‘Champion’
Inkke – ‘Suvi’
Spooky – ‘Fiesta’
TryTry – ‘Dance The Night’
SirPixalot – ‘Database’
Grizzle – ‘Consort’
DJ Milktray & Bushido – ‘Fong Song’
Strict Face – ‘Murderer’ (ft. K-Major)
T_A_M – ‘Light A Fire Under It’
Sage The Gemini – ‘Hands’
Finn – ‘Bad of the Heart’
Strict Face – ‘Blossom Racer’
Koala – ‘Our Secret Night’
Glot – ‘SeaLionGang’
Lington – ‘Teal Hydra’
Invader Spade – ‘Je T’aime’
Travis Scott – ‘Pick Up The Phone’ (ft. Young Thug & Quavo)
Anz – ‘Frost’
Mordecai – ‘Together’
Lonelyspeck – ‘Autopsy’
Strict Face – ‘Think It Thru’
Rihanna – ‘Kiss It Better’



Share Tweet