Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

No Limit/Cash Money icon Mystikal gets funky on 'Hit Me'

Mystikal channels the spirit of James Brown on his latest track.

Imagine James Brown, but born about 40 years later, a product of the Dirty South rap scene, and a (former) No Limit Soldier, and you just might get Mystikal’s ‘Hit Me’. The rapper behind ‘Shake Ya Ass’ and ‘Danger (Been So Long)’ spent most of the last decade serving time for a variety of charges, but he’s ready to re-enter the game.

‘Hit Me’ is built over a rollicking soul-funk instrumental that recalls Soul Brother No. 1 long before Mystikal entreaties the listener to “Say it loud / I’m black and I’m loud.” Other than his “white-voiced” adlib, the highlight is his stream of consciousness near-rhyme “Madonna designers iguanas Rihanna vaginas piranha”.

Stream the song below. Last year, Mystikal signed to Cash Money, and his first album since 2001’s Tarantula is due out next year.



Share Tweet