Cologne institution Kompakt is currently celebrating 20 years of trading, and one of their first birthday gifts is the latest disc in their long-running Pop Ambient compilation series.

As ever, Pop Ambient 2013 (the thirteenth in the series, no less) is a collection of gauzy ambient music and crystalline electronica. Label boss Wolfgang Voigt crops up twice, remixing close affiliate Michael Mayer’s recent ‘Sully’, and contributing heady drone piece ‘Rückverzauberung 7’ (whose predecessor, the sublime Rückverzauberung 6, made it into our top 10 albums of 2012). Jens-Uwe Beyer, a close affiliate of the Magazine imprint, appears, as does Argentinian soundscaper Leandro Fresco. Matias Aguayo and Jörg Burger unveil their new Terrapin moniker, covering Pink Floyd’s 1969 wig-out ‘Cirrus Minor’, and Anton Kubikov and Mikkel Metal also make the cut.

Head here to stream the album, courtesy of Resident Advisor.

01. Leandro Fresco – Cuando El Sol Grita La Manaña
02. Michael Mayer – Sully (Wolfgang Voigt Mix)
03. Jens-Uwe Beyer – Deutz Air 2
04. Triola – Jean Vigo
05. Marsen Jules – Point of No Return
06. Mikkel Metal – Recombination
07. Anton Kubikov – Ambianopolis
08. Wolfgang Voigt – Rückverzauberung 7
09. Leandro Fresco – El Cruce Imposible
10. Terrapin – Cirrus Minor



Share Tweet