Blue-chip Bristol imprint Tectonic return next week with the fourth edition of their reliable Tectonic Plates series. 

The Tectonic Plates discs have served as yardstick markers for the label’s development over the years: 2006’s debut compilation focused on first-wave dubstep artists like Skream and Digital Mystikz; the 2009 follow-up brought fusionists like 2562 and Flying Lotus into the fold; and last year’s edition offered steelier material from Roska, Om Unit and Goth Trad.

Tectonic Plates Volume 4 promises an especially eclectic selection, ranging from glossy Bristol fare (Guido) to juddering machine music (Pursuit Grooves) to d’n’b (Steve Digital). Particularly promising is a new cut from sinister techno/funky splicer Beneath, responsible for a string of essential releases throughout 2012 on his No Symbols imprint. FACT have the first play of ‘Flight’ – a churning brew of syncopated percussion, billowing reverb and bass that tugs like quicksand.

Tectonic Plates Volume 4 will arrive on CD and digital on May 6 on Tectonic. Beneath’s sterling 2012 FACT Mix can be streamed here.

01 Jakes ‘Rounds’
02 Guido ‘State Of Joy’
03 Sinistarr & Texel ‘Decibell’
04 Decibel ‘Talk’
05 Mumdance & Logos ‘Drum Boss’
06 Distal ‘Kerplunk’
07 Kryptic Minds ‘Convoluted’
08 Steve Digital ‘Larry Shite On The Night’
09 Armour ‘Skylark’
10 Pursuit Grooves ‘Hard Beginnings’
11 Acre ‘DXTR’
12 Beneath ‘Flight’



Share Tweet