Fire records are reissuing three classic 12″s by Spacemen 3.

Rugby’s answer to The Velvet Underground formed in 1982, led by Jason Pierce and Pete ‘Sonic Boom’ Kember. Following their break-up in ’91, Pierce went on to find greater notoriety with Spiritualized, while Kember pursued a more experimental but no less compelling trajectory with Spectrum, E.A.R. and other projects (he also produced MGMT’s recent Congratulations LP).

Fire’s new reissues, due out on February 17, are replicas of the three singles that the band released through Glass Records in the late ’80s. First up is ‘Walkin’ With Jesus’ (1986) – a song that Spacemen 3 subsequently re-recorded and which continues to form part of Spiritualized’s live repertoire), backed with ‘Feel So Good’ and an epic 17-minute cover of 13th Floor Elevators’ ‘Rollercoaster’. The insert from the original release is included.

‘Transparent Radiation’, first released in ’87, is accompanied by the complete and original version of ‘Ecstasy Symphony’, ‘Transparent Radiation (Flashback)’, the unedited version of ‘Things’ll Never Be The Same’ and a 10-minute cover of the MC5’s ‘Starship’.

‘Take Me To The Other Side’ (1988) is backed with an out-take instrumental of ‘The Perfect Prescription’, ‘Soul 1’ and ‘That’s Just Fine’. More info here.

Walking With Jesus tracklist:
A1. Walking With Jesus
B1. Rollercoaster
B2. Feel So Good

Transparent Radiation tracklist:
A1. Transparent Radiation
A2. Ecstasy Symphony
A3. Transparent Radiation (Flashback)
B1. Things’ll Never Be The Same
B2. Starship

Take Me To The Other Side tracklist:
A1. Take Me To The Other Side
B1. Soul
B2. That’s Just Fine



Share Tweet