Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory switch off the neon lights and go back to a moodier, more pensive sound.

The duo have announced that their sixth studio LP, Tales of Us, will be released on 9 September on Mute. The 10-track collection will also be available as a deluxe box set containing CD, vinyl, a disc of bonus material, the full album in 5.1 on DVD, a 12” print and a 40-page hardback book.

“The aural lineage of the record is the dreamy, acoustic, David Lynch-like flavour of Goldfrapp’s opening set, Felt Mountain, and their defining mid-period masterwork, Seventh Tree,” they say on their website.

To whet our appetites ever so slightly, they’ve put together a 52-second amuse-bouche of album snippets. All signs do indeed point to a return to the softer sounds of their excellent 2000 debut Felt Mountain.

Goldfrapp will preview Tales Of Us on tour this summer, kicking off on 17 July at Manchester International Festival, where Mogwai will also be performing their soundtrack to Zidane.

Watch the album teaser below:


01 Jo
02 Annabel
03 Drew
04 Ulla
05 Alvar
06 Thea
07 Simone
08 Stranger
09 Laurel
10 Clay



Share Tweet