John Talabot’s signings remix the monochrome London trio.

Four Hivern Discs acts have given four tracks from The xx’s 2012 album Coexist the remix treatment on an EP set for release next month.

Marc Piñol, Mistakes Are Ok, New Jackson and new signing Round all contribute their own versions of, respectively, ‘Fiction’, ‘Reunion’, ‘Swept Away’ and ‘Missing’, adding a Hivern-esque touch of hazy Mediterranean warmth while protecting the subtle, shadowy vibes of the original tracks.

The HVNXX EP is out in November and follows a collaborative remix by label head John Talabot and associate Pional released as a 12″ earlier in the year. Meanwhile, Talabot has just dropped his edition of the DJ-Kicks album series and launched a show on Spain’s Radio 3 alongside his Hivern Discs partner Franc Sayol. [via RA]

Hear the ‘Fiction’ and ‘Reunion’ remixes below, with tracklist and artwork beneath:

‘Fiction’ (Marc Piñol Remix):

‘Reunion’ (Mistakes Are Ok Remix):

01 Fiction (Marc Piñol Remix)
02 Reunion (Mistakes Are Ok Remix)
03 Missing (Round Remix)
04 Swept Away (New Jackson Remix)



Share Tweet