Throwing Snow announces debut LP, shares video for 'The Tempest'

Ross Tones readies his first full length album for new home Houndstooth.

As Throwing Snow, Tones has released music for Local Action, Ho Tep, Sneaker Social Club and his own Snowfall imprint. Earlier this year, he linked up with Fabric’s Houndstooth imprint for Pathfinder, an EP to be “listened to during journeys.”

Mosaic continues down the (ahem) path started by Pathfinder, fuses Tones’ diverse musical interests into a cohesive project: “elements of folk and real instruments combined with drum funk, electronica and samples,” according to a press release, along with appearances by vocalists Py, Adda Kaleh, Kid A and more.

“I don’t feel I’m in any way using one influence in any of the tracks, more bringing disparate elements together as a collage,” he writes. “Each part is distinct but when bought together there is a bigger picture that the listener can find points of reference.”

The album is due out on double-vinyl, CD and digital on June 2 and is available to pre-order now. The cover art and tracklist are below, along with the video for ‘The Tempest’. Directed by Rick Robin, the clip features angelic sprites doing battle in endless space.

1. Avarice
2. The Tempest (feat. Adda Kaleh)
3. Hypnotise (feat. Kid A)
4. Linguis
5. As You Fall (feat. Py)
6. Pathfinder
7. The Void (feat. Jassy Grez)
8. Maera (feat. Adda Kaleh)
9. All The Lights (feat. Russell Morgan)
10. Draugr (feat. KNOX)
11. Saltare (Parts 1 & 2)



Share Tweet