Air's first new material since 2012 to see limited-edition vinyl release

Jean-Benoît Dunckel and Nicolas Godin will release Music For Museum this month.

The duo were commissioned to soundtrack the Open Museum 2014 project at the Palais de Beaux Arts in Lille, recording compositions inspired by contemporary artists Linda Bujoli, Mathias Kiss, Xavier Veilhan and Yi Zhou. The ambient soundscapes are played throughout the museum, responding to the space with the help of special software.

“This choice was a fairly obvious way: the music of AIR inspires mental images, suggests a fantasy film,” says curator Régis Cotentin. “This is music that creates images and stimulates the imagination.” Now, the duo’s four new tracks will be released on vinyl.

Music For Museum will be released on 2×180-gram clear vinyl by The Vinyl Factory; the vinyl-only release is limited to 1000 copies worldwide. It is available to pre-order now and will be released on June 26.



Share Tweet