Beck to release recorded version of Song Reader sheet music with Jack White, Sparks, Jarvis Cocker

Laura Marling, Norah Jones and Loudon Wainwright III are among the starry guests.

A couple of years ago Beck released his Song Reader project, a set of songs written as sheet music but left unrecorded. After staging a handful of concerts to showcase the material, he’s now finally announced a companion album of recorded music featuring a host of his showbiz pals.

With Beck performing just one song on the record (‘Heaven’s Ladder’), the other 19 songs has been interpreted by a diverse bunch including Jarvis Cocker, Jack White, David Johansen and Sparks.

Other participants include Laura Marling, Jack Black, Loudon Wainwright III, Norah Jones and Eleanor Friedberger. See the full tracklist below and watch Beck performing ‘Heaven’s Ladder’ underneath. The album is out on July 29 via Capitol Records.

Song Reader is the second album from Beck this year, following the Byrds-inspired Morning Phase.



01 Moses Sumney – Title of This Song
02 Fun. – Please Leave A Light On When You Go
03 Tweedy – The Wolf Is On The Hil
04 Norah Jones – Just Noise
05 Lord Huron – Last Night You Were A Dream
06 Bob Forrest – Saint Dude
07 Jack White – I’m Down
08 Beck – Heaven’s Ladder
09 Juanes – Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard
10 Laura Marling – Sorry
11 Jarvis Cocker – Eyes That Say ’I Love You’
12 David Johansen – Rough On Rats
13 Jason Isbell – Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings
14 The Last Polka – Marc Ribot
15 Eleanor Friedberger – Old Shanghai
16 Sparks – Why Did You Make Me Care?
17 Swamp Dogg – America, Here’s My Boy
18 Jack Black – We All Wear Cloaks
19 Loudon Wainwright III – Do We? We Do
20 Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic – Mutilation Rag



Share Tweet