Hyperdub dip into the ambient realm on their third celebratory compilation.

The third in Hyperdub’s series of 10th anniversary compilations, 10.3 finds the label on a markedly different tip than you might expect, exploring the world of weightless, ambient music. It might not be a genre you’d expect to find Hyperdub championing, but listen a bit closer and they’ve been flirting with it for some time.

The already classic tracks here from Burial (‘In McDonalds’ and the unfuckwithable ‘Night Bus’), Laurel Halo, King Midas Sound and others prove a good point – these beatless tracks have always represented the label’s sound efficiently and gracefully, and Hyperdub have rustled up a few new jammers to complement the old classics. We’ve got new material here from PAN’s Lee Gamble, Cooly G, Fatima Al Qadiri, The Bug, Dean Blunt, Inga Copeland, Ikonika, DJ Earl, Junior BoysJeremy Greenspan and label boss Kode9 himself, and this bounty of new tunes alone should make the record well worth a look.

10.3 will be released on September 22 on CD, vinyl and digital via Hyperdub.


01 Burial – In McDonalds
02 Dean Blunt – Urban
03 Kode9 & the Spaceape – Hole in the Sky
04 Inga Copeland – I am Your Ambient Wife
05 Kode9 – Pink Sham Pain Down The Drain
06 Laurel Halo – Melt
07 The Bug – Siren
08 Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland – Untitled 13
09 Walton – City of God
10 King Midas Sound – Blue
11 Lee Gamble – DSM
12 Cooly G – Mind
13 Burial – Night Bus
14 Ikonika – Completion V.3
15 Darkstar – Ostkreuz
16 Fhloston Paradigm – Liloos Seduction
17 Ikonika – Time/Speed
18 DJ Earl – Hexgonic Sound
19 Cooly G – Trying
20 Laurel Halo – Wow
21 Fatima Al Qadiri — Shanxi
22 DVA – Reach the Devil
23 Jeremy Greenspan feat Borys – Gage



Share Tweet