Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

The two collaborators get back to basics as they prepare for a US tour.

Vocalist Abdu Ali and DJ/producer Schwarz have spent the last few years exploring the outer fringes of Baltimore club music: Ali’s INVICTOS and Push+Slay mixtapes were noisy, ballroom-laced affairs, while Schwarz’s productions and bootlegs have always embraced his weirder impulses.

The frequent collaborators have teamed up for Already, a back-to-basics, Baltimore club EP that still feels like a personal affair. That’s because it is: ‘I, Exist’ is a self-affirming validation of Ali’s existence as a young, gay, black man; ‘Flat Out’ is a reaction against discrimination and prejudice.

“In Baltimore, when we say ‘already’ to a person we are validating that love or loyalty exists and will continue to exist 4EVA,” he writes. Baltimore — and Baltimore club specifically — loom large over the EP. “It’s paying homage to something that means something special to us both.”

Stream Already — which features reworkings by Blaqstarr, Kilbourne and DJ Dizzy — below. Tomorrow, Ali and Schwarz will hit the road for a month-long tour; those dates follow.



Share Tweet