The Afrobeat pioneer steps in for Vladislav Delay.

The Moritz Von Oswald Trio returns to Honest Jon’s in an adjusted format next month, with the Berlin techno sage and his regular collaborator Max Loderbauer joined by Tony Allen.

The pioneering Afrobeat drummer – who’s previously collaborated with the likes Damon Albarn, Flea and Charlotte Gainsbourg, as well as Fela Kuti – replaces Sasu Ripatti, aka Vladislav Delay, so we’re intrigued to see how he’ll fit into the MVOT dynamic.

Due on June 8, Sounding Lines features “percussion sequencing, synthesizers and additional electronics” from Von Oswald while Loderbauer is on synths. The album has been mixed by Ricardo Villalobos, who recently teamed up with Loderbauer to remix Allen’s ‘African Man’. [via RA]


01. 1
02. 2
03. 3
04. 4
05. 5
06. 6 (Spectre)
07. 7
08. 8



Share Tweet