It’s been two years since London DJ/producer/Sun Ra obsessive Mr. Beatnick wowed us with the Synthetes Trilogy, so his return to Don’t Be Afraid for a four-track EP is worth getting excited about.

Following last year’s Marshmallows EP for Tief, the new collection is billed as his “most floor-focused work to date”. Expect a “deep techno bomb” with opening cut ‘Stutter’ and more “eyes-down, moody, broken” sounds on ‘Formed In The Stance’ and ‘Obsidian Morning’, which you can check out in the radio rip below.

The EP is out on 12″ and digitally on July 10, and is one of a cluster of releases forthcoming on Don’t Be Afraid, including a new DBA Dubs 12″ from D-Malice with a Basic Soul Unit remix, out in August, and an EP by Ben Cohen later in the summer, while this week sees the release of DBA020, The Room Below’s Homemade Waves EP.

Mr. Beatnick offered a concise introduction to his world on his 2013 FACT mix – get familiar. He’s also our resident Sun Ra expert, if you’re looking for a mix of blissful space jazz.


A1. Stutter
A2. Jellyfish
B1. Formed In The Stance
B2. Obsidian Morning

Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy