Sam Binga has been putting his own slant on UK dance music for a decade and a half.

Originally named Baobinga, he rose to prominence in the (shhh!) hardcore breaks era, but in recent years has moved to a quicker tempo, releasing a series of well-received singles that are closest to jungle and juke, but often rely on half-time hip-hop style beats for their potency. He’s also, as his Against the Clock episodes show, a force of nature in the studio.

His debut album under the Sam Binga name will arrive on veteran drum and bass label Critical. It’s titled Wasted Days, and will be released on September 11 with a real rogue’s gallery of guest spots including Warrior Queen, Slick Don, Rider Shafique, Chimpo, Om Unit and Fox.

Stream the first taste of it, ‘Pound 4 Pound’, below, and scroll down for the tracklist.

Digital / CD tracklist:
1. Sam Binga ft. Redders & Rider Shafique – Believe
2. Sam Binga ft. Warrior Queen – Wasted Days
3. Sam Binga ft. Redders & Rider Shafique – Pound 4 Pound
4. Sam Binga ft. TT The Artist – Bad Bish
5. Sam Binga ft. Slick Don – Run The Dance
6. Sam Binga & Hyroglifics – Dark Day
7. Sam Binga ft. Rudey Lee – Stormy Weather
8. Sam Binga ft. Rider Shafique – Mind & Spirit
9. Sam Binga ft. Redders – Badman Skin
10. Sam Binga & Chimpo ft. Fox & Rider Shafique – Necessary
11. Sam Binga – I Tol U
12. Sam Binga & Om Unit – Reclaim
13. Sam Binga ft. Romaine – Greatest Distance
14. Sam Binga & Deft ft. Chimpo, Fox & Redders – Steppin VIP
15. Sam Binga – One6Nine (Digital album extra)
16. Sam Binga – Boongooz (Digital album extra)
17. Sam Binga – Dub & Spirit (Digital album extra)

Vinyl tracklist:
A1: Wasted Days
A2: Badman Skin
A3: One6Nine
B1: Pound 4 Pound
B2: I Tol U
C1: Mind & Spirit
C2: Dark Day
D1: Bad Bish
D2: Reclaim

CRITLP08LTD (10” Ltd Edition Vinyl)
1. Greatest Distance ft. Romaine (Ivy Lab Remix)
2. AYO ft. Redders (Ivy Lab Remix)



Share Tweet