Next up on FACT TV’s record shopping series: Kali Uchis.

Born in Colombia, raised in Northern Virginia and now based in Los Angeles, Kali is a singer-writer-director-producer whose music recalls classic pop and soul, but with a modern, hip-hop-flavored taste.

FACT TV met with Kali in Washington, DC, miles from where she grew up, flipping through records at Som Records and Joint Custody, two stores in the city’s famed 14th and U Street corridor. Learn more about Kali’s musical upbringing and check out her taste in classic soul records.

Kali’s Por Vida project is out now, and the video for ‘Loner’ is due out next week.



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp