Spreading the Word.

Sample-hunters looking for some roof-raising vocals will be pleased to learn that London label Honest Jon’s has launched a series of gospel-themed compilations.

The series starts with a retrospective digging into the Gospel Roots label, an offshoot of Miami’s classic disco imprint T.K. Records. Christians Catch Hell: Gospel Roots 1976-79 compiles 18 tracks from Gospel Roots which have been remastered at Abbey Road Studios.

The vinyl edition comes with a booklet that includes artist interviews and photographs, and it’s out on December 4.

Check out our round-up of the month’s best reissues and retrospectives for more essential vintage goodies. [via RA]


01. Pastor T. L. Barrett – After The Rain
02. Camille Doughty – Elijah Rock
03. The Howard Lemon Singers – For The Children
04. The Fantastic Family Aires – Tell Me
05. Jean Austin & Company – Spirit Free
06. The Jordan Singers – Will You Save Me
07. The Phillipians – Never Say What You Want
08. The Fabulous Luckett Brothers – Help Me To Carry On
09. Bright Clouds – I’ve Got To Make A Change
10. The Fantastic Family Aires – Troubled Mind
11. The O’Neal Twins – Wake Up Everybody
12. Rev. T.L. Barrett – Said It Long Time Ago
13. The Fantastic Family Aires – The Color Of God
14. The Brooklyn All Stars – Blessed Be The Name Of God
15. The Original Sunset Travelers – On Jesus’ Program
16. Reverend Edna Isaac and the Greene Sisters – Christians Catch Hell
17. The Fountain Of Life Joy Choir – Thank You
18. The Fantastic Family Aires – Glory



Share Tweet