London producer steps up to the world’s biggest decks.

Floating Points took charge of the latest BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix yesterday, with a two hour selection that takes in everything from disco to Latin music, jazz to techno.

Known for his eclectic taste and wide ranging musical knowledge, the London producer brought together the likes of Carlos Walker, Pearson Sound, Cortex, Gil Scott-Heron, Gemini, Lifetones, Kenny Larkin, and a couple of his own edits.

You can listen back via the BBC iPlayer, or download here.

Last month, Floating Points sat down with Mr. Beatnick for a conversation about quantise, DJing, and his debut album.

Carlos Walker – Via Láctea
Cortex – Chanson D’un Jour D’hiver
Dom Salvador E Abolição – Hei! Você
Claudia – Com Mais De 30
Neno Exporta Som – Deixa A Tristeza
Trio Ternura – A Gira
Larry T. & The Family – I’m Moving On
Maurice Moore – Everything That Shines Ain’t Gold (Floating Points Edit)
The Perfect Circle – Hands Of Time
Chain Reaction – Search For Tomorrow
Mary Clark – Take Me I’m Yours
Lifetones – Good Side
Neal Howard – The Gathering (Club Mix)
Gemini – Day Dreaming
Thomas Melchior – The Ritual
Pearson Sound – Freeze Cycle
The Vision – Detroit: One Circle
Roman IV – Lucy
Eddie ‘Flashin’ Fowlkes – Deep Pit (Kenny Larkin Remix)
4th Measure Men – The Need (Basement Jaxx ‘Release’ Mix)
Evans Pyramid – I Want Your Body
Emerson – Sending All My Love Out
Crustation – Flame (Mood II Swing Dub)
Gil Scott-Heron – Home Is Where The Hatred Is (Live)
Queen Yahna – Ain’t It Time
Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra – Baby, I Can’t Get Over You
Bobby V. – Disco Baby (Floating Points Edit)
Sympho State – You Know What I Like
Jesse Gould – Out Of Work
Standing Room Only – Searchin’
Africano – Open Your Hearts
Jerry Washington – Don’t Waste My Time
Taxie – Rock Don’t Stop



Share Tweet