The album is the Scottish band’s third soundtrack.

Mogwai have released details of their next album, a soundtrack originally written to accompany Mark Cousins’ documentary Atomic: Living in Dread and Promise.

The 2015 documentary was constructed entirely from archive film, and covers the horrors of the Cold War, Chernobyl and Fukushima as well as the positive changes of the atomic age.

Due in April, the album is Mogwai’s third soundtrack after scores for Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait and French drama Les Revenants, and according to a press release, balances both the nightmare of the nuclear age and its “dreamlike qualities”.

The album will be released on April 1 on their Rock Action label in the UK and Temporary Residence in the US. You can hear album track ‘U-235’ below.


01. Ether
03. Bitterness Centrifuge
04. U-235
05. Pripyat
06. Weak Force
07. Little Boy
08. Are You A Dancer?
09. Tzar
10. Fat Man



Share Tweet