The analog fetishist contributes to !K7’s classic mix series.

DaM-FunK‘s addictive brand of post-Prince analog funk has seen him rise through the ranks, from dropping 12″s on Stones Throw to collaborating with none other than Snoop Dogg. Now he’s taking his exhaustive appetite for tunes to !K7 with a mix for their long-running DJ-Kicks series.

The mix, due to drop on May 27, explores DaM-FunK’s patented “modern funk”, which according to the artist is a combination of sounds: “funk, boogie, electro, house, modern-soul, ambient tones… a push and pull of nostalgia and progressiveness…”.

The tracklist certainly backs up his statement, with tracks from house legend Gemini, R&B types Randell & Schippers, Italian innovator Gigi Masin and plenty more. There’s even an exclusive track from Funk himself – ‘Believer’ – and his recent collaboration with Nite Jewel (as Nite-Funk) ‘Can U Read Me?’.

You can check the cover and tracklist below. Two tracks from the compilation (Index’s ‘Starlight (The Break)’ and Verticle Lines’ ‘Theme From Beach Boy’ will be released on 10″, and the mix will be released on CD, digital and 2LP on May 27 via !K7.



01. Moon B – ‘Oof’
02. Nicci Gable – ‘Close To Who?’
03. Randell & Schippers – ‘Love Jam’
04. Verticle Lines – ‘Theme From Beach Boy’
05. Brandon – ‘Suzy Hijack’
06. Take Three – ‘Tonite’s The Night (All Right)’
07. Index – ‘Starlight’
08. Uncle Jams Army – ‘Dial-A-Freak’
09. Gemini – ‘Log In’
10. Nexus – ‘Stand Up’ (Instrumental)
11. Reggie B – ‘Poison Candy’
12. L33 – ‘Keepin It Tight’
13. Gaussian Curve – ‘Broken Clouds’
14. Tony Palkovic – ‘True To Yourself’
15. Henning – ‘Arrival / Departure’
16. Nite-Funk – ‘Can U Read Me?’
17. DaM-FunK – ‘Believer’
18. True Design – ‘I Wanna Break’
19. Crystal Winds – ‘Funk Ain’t Easy’



Share Tweet