Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

The big budget video is the latest visual for last year’s Art Angels.

After teasing it earlier in the week, Grimes has unveiled the video for ‘Venus Fly’, her album collaboration with Janelle Monáe. It is epic.

Given how strong their personal styles are anyway, we’re not surprised to see them pull out all the stops in the wardrobe department to come up with this tribal-space-queens-on-shrooms aesthetic. Naturally, they’ve accessorised with flaming swords.

“We used the Phantom cameras to create a feeling of time suspended,” Grimes said of the high-speed video cameras used to make the slow-motion images, while thanking TIDAL for giving her the “opportunity to create the images I’ve been imagining in my head for a minute.”

In a personal note, Grimes added: “Sometimes it feels futile to be making art in this cruel and extreme political climate, but some of the brightest moments of the last few months for me and for a lot of you, I suspect, have come from seeing @janellemonae’s amazing and positive vision of the future, especially when we are being introduced to so many possible dystopian futures.”

Last week Grimes gave $10,000 to the Council on American-Islamic Relations after matching fan donations.

Watch Grimes’ video for ‘California’ below.



Share Tweet