The composer’s first solo album since recovering from cancer.

Electronic pioneer and legendary composer Ryuichi Sakamoto releases his first solo album in eight years today, async, and you can stream it now.

Recorded primarily in New York, Sakamoto has said the album was conceived as the score to an imaginary Andrei Tarkovsky film while also taking inspiration from “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature.” The result is a multichromatic view of Sakamoto’s vast sound and perpetually futuristic sound.

async is out today via Milan Records. Take a look at the artwork and tracklist below.


01. ‘andata’
02. ‘disintegration’
03. ‘solari’
04. ‘ZURE’
05. ‘walker’
06. ‘stakra’
07. ‘ubi’
08. ‘fullmoon’
09. ‘async’
10. ‘tri’
11. ‘Life, Life’
12. ‘honj’
13. ‘ff’
14. ‘garden’
15. ‘water state 2’ (vinyl only bonus track)

Read next: The Returned: Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto on recovery, Oscars and David Bowie



Share Tweet