Watch a short documentary featuring the late composer’s parents now.

Deutsche Grammophon is releasing the first volume of a career retrospective of the late avant-garde composer Jóhann Jóhannsson.

Retrospective I will collect seven of the composer’s early works, including The Miners’ Hymns, Copenhagen Dreams, Virðulegu Forsetar and a previously unreleased score, White Black Boy.

To mark the release, producer Áine Devaney and filmmaker Blair Alexander travelled to Jóhansson’s home town of Reykjavík, Iceland to trace the composer’s early influences and to speak to some of the people that knew him best, including his parents.

The anthology will be released digitally and as a deluxe, seven-CD hardcover book edition. It will be followed in 2020 with a second volume, Retrospective II, which will feature the composer’s more recent scores for Arrival and The Mercy, as well as his 2016 album Orphée.

Retrospective I is available for pre-order now, arriving this Friday (April 26) in Europe and on May 10 in the US. Check out the cover art and tracklist below.


Virðulegu Forsetar:
01. ‘Part 1’
02. ‘Part 2’
03. ‘Part 3’
04. ‘Part 4 ‘

01. Bangkok Norðursins
02. 10 Rokkstig
03. Saumavél
04. Gúmmískór
05. Já, Hemmi Minn
06. Efripídes og Neðripídes
07. Jarðaför
08. Þynnkudagur
09. Ruslpóstur
10. Ljósrit
11. Flugeldar
12. Hótel Borg
13. Ónefnt
14. Flugeldar II
15. Dís (long version)

And In The Endless Pause There Came The Sound Of Bees:
01. ‘Theme’
02. ‘City Building’
03. ‘Entering the City’
04. ‘The Flat’
05. ‘Rainwater’
06. ‘Siren Song’
07. ‘Pods’
08. ‘The Gift’
09. ‘Dying City’
10. ‘City Building (alternate version)’
11. ‘Escape’
12. ‘Inside the Pods’
13. ‘End (Snowing)’

The Miners’ Hymns:
01. ‘They Being Dead yet Speaketh’
02. ‘An Injury to One Is the Concern of All’
03. ‘Freedom from Want and Fear’
04. ‘There Is No Safe Side but the Side of Truth’
05. ‘Industrial and Provident, We Unite to Assist Each Other’
06. ‘The Cause of Labour Is the Hope of the World’

Copenhagen Dreams:
01. ‘Eleven Thousand Six Hundred and Sixty-Nine Died of Natural Causes’
02. ‘They Leave Everything Behind’
03. ‘They Fed the Sparrows Leftovers and Offered Grass to Scherfig’s Turtle’
04. ‘An Eiffel Tower by the Lakes’
05. ‘Three Thousand Five Hundred and Ninety One Banches’
06. ‘The Jewish Cemetery on Møllegade’
07. ‘They Dream They’ll Get There’
08. ‘A Memorial Garden on Enghavevej’
09. ‘A Six-Lane Highway’
10. ‘It Will Take Some Time’
11. ‘He Hit Her on the Head with “The Wind in the Willows”‘
12. ‘He Says It’s the Future’
13. ‘The Song about the Hyacinths’
14. ‘There’s No Harm Done’
15. ‘They Had to Work It out Between Them’
16. ‘She Loves to Ride the Port Ferry When It Rains’
17. ‘A French School on Værnedamsvej’
18. ‘Here, They Used to Build Ships’
19. ‘They Imagine the City Growing out into the Ocean’

Free The Mind:
01. ‘Free the Mind’
02. ‘Radio’
03. ‘Elevator I’
04. ‘Elevator II’
05. ‘Neurons’
06. ‘Night Montage’
07. ‘First Attempts’
08. ‘Sparkles’
09. ‘Breathe’
10. ‘Will’s Story I’
11. ‘Meditation’
12. ‘Lab’
13. ‘Emotional Intelligence’
14. ‘Innocence’
15. ‘Separation’
16. ‘Love after Love’
17. ‘Will’s Story II’

White Black Boy:
01. ‘Intro’
02. ‘Playing with Ball’
03. ‘Dying Bird’
04. ‘Exam Results’
05. ‘Nightmare 2’
06. ‘Feather’
07. ‘Sun’
08. ‘Bad Results’
09. ‘Exam’
10. ‘Nightmare’
11. ‘Time to Say Goodbye’
12. ‘End Theme’
13. ‘Automobile’

Read next: Remembering Jóhann Jóhannsson



Share Tweet