Parlophone will celebrate the ruby anniversary of Bowie’s classic sixth LP with a special CD/digital reissue.

Last year, the 40th anniversary reissue of David Bowie’s The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars felt like a significant event – indeed, it was the second best-selling vinyl LP of 2012. What with all the recent Bowie hullabaloo, however, the news that Aladdin Sane is about to get the same treatment feels like a footnote rather than a must-bay. Still, for those more interested in yesteryear than The Next Day, full details have emerged about the release.

The 40th edition version of Aladdin Sane will arrive on Parlophone. As per the Ziggy Stardust disc, the record will be remastered by Ray Staff of London’s Air Studios(who, as it happens, handled mastering on the original album). The record will be available on CD and as an iTunes download. There are, unfortunately, no bonuses or goodies- although, as Super Deluxe Edition notes, the Aladdin Sane sessions have typically been fairly arid ground as far as unreleased material goes. Rykodisc’s 1990 reissue series failed to muster up any new material, and 2003’s 2xCD 30th anniversary edition offered slim pickings for Bowie completists.

Aladdin Sane will arrive on April 13. New album The Next Day, meanwhile, will drop on March 11.

1. Watch That Man
2. Aladdin Sane (1913-1938-197?)
3. Drive-In Saturday
4. Panic In Detroit
5. Cracked Actor
6. Time
7. The Prettiest Star
8. Let’s Spend the Night Together
9. The Jean Genie
10. Lady Grinning Soul



Share Tweet