RBMA Tokyo 2014 participants revealed, including Tri Angle producer WIFE and Hyperdub alumnus Ossie

Congrats to this year’s batch of freshers heading to Red Bull Music Academy in Tokyo.

The class of 2014 includes Irish producer WIFE, who released his debut album on Tri Angle last month, and the grimey Jeff Mills himself, UK talent Mumdance.

Hyperdub alumnus and UK funky stalwart Ossie and Berlin-based producer Palms Trax, who inaugurated the Lobster Theremin label this year, have also been picked for the annual electronic music jamboree, as have Laura J Martin, Torus, Zebra Katz, Xosar, Deradoorian and Lafawndah. See the full list below.

The 16th annual academy finally arrives in Japan’s capital this year after the planned 2011 event in the city had to be relocated to Madrid in the wake of that year’s massive earthquake. Last year’s RBMA in New York featured the likes of Afrika Bambaataa, Prurient, Oren Ambarchi, DJ Rashad and DJ Spinn, Giorgio Moroder and Brian Eno alongside a host of younger musicians brushing up their skills over the month-long series of workshops, talks and live events.

RBMA Tokyo 2014 participants:

Ah! Kosmos (Turkey)
Albino Sound (Japan)
Alejandro Paz (Chile)
Arenov (Kazakhstan)
Bienoise (Italy)
Blinky Bill (Kenya)
Boody (United States)
Bosaina (Egypt)
Brigitte Laverne (Spain)
Cat500 (United States)
Christian Kroupa (Slovenia)
Courtesy (Denmark)
Daniel Limaverde (Brazil)
Deltatron (Peru)
Deradoorian (United States)
Douchka (France)
Ekali (Canada)
Estii / Yale (Australia)
Felix (France)
Haioka (Japan)
Ipek Gorgun (Turkey)
Kadhja Bonet (United States)
King Bruce (South Africa)
Krizzli (Switzerland)
La Mverte (France)
Lafawndah (France)
LAO (Mexico)
Larry Gus (Italy)
Laura J Martin (United Kingdom)
Lewis Cancut (Australia)
Mickey de Grand IV (United States)
Mickey Dripping (United Kingdom)
Mimu Merz (Austria)
Mumdance (United Kingdom)
Never Sol (Czech Republic)
Nightfeelings (United States)
Nischay Parekh (India)
NV (Russia)
Olefonken (Norway)
Ossie (United Kingdom)
Palms Trax (Germany)
Parachute Pulse (United Kingdom)
Plasma Rüby (Argentina)
rj (Germany)
Sapphire Slows (Japan)
Silva (Brazil)
Sonnenberg (Poland)
Summer (Australia)
SUMORAI (Sweden)
Sylas (United Kingdom)
Tollcrane (Pakistan)
Torus (Netherlands)
Uio Loi (United States)
Valesuchi (Chile)
Watercolours (New Zealand)
WIFE (United Kingdom)
Xosar (Germany)
Zebra Katz (United States)
Zopelar (Brazil)




Share Tweet