The long-time associate puts her solo stamp on the label.

Melbourne-raised, Berlin-based artist Carla dal Forno announces the release of her debut solo album for Blackest Ever Black.

You Know What It’s Like, which follows April’s ‘Fast Moving Cars’ 7″ and previous projects for Blackest Ever Black, Tarcar and F ingers, is due out October 9. The LP is described as “an album for in-between days” in the press release and one that “occupies in-between states: plain-speaking pop, disorientated by dub. Psychedelic folk delivered with (post-)punk economy.”

First single, ‘What You Gonna Do Now?’, embodies the label’s chilly, post-punk-inspired aesthetic, but with dal Forno’s gorgeously deadpan vocal in tow. It’s one of those songs that just “kind of wrote itself,” according to the artist.

Speaking to The FADER today, dal Forno says the song “is kind of a fantasy – imagine being able to have that much control and power over someone and enact revenge…It’s not something I’d ever want, but it’s fun to mess around with that concept in a song.”

Hear the single below and see Carla dal Forno live when she launches her album at Corsica Studios on October 15.


01. Italian Cinema
02. Fast Moving Cars
03. DB Rip
04. What You Gonna Do Now?
05. Dry In The Rain
06. You Know What It’s Like
07. Dragon Breath
08. The Same Reply

CARLA DAL FORNO - You Know What Its Like LP - Artwork 500x500



Share Tweet