Recorded during his time waiting to leave South Africa.

Yasiin Bey, aka Mos Def, had a quiet year spent dealing with legal issues in his home of South Africa regarding his passport. Now, a week after being told to leave the country and never return, the rapper has announced his next album, December 99th.

The album was produced entirely by Ferrari Shepard and was recorded in South Africa while Bey awaited his permanent departure from the country. The album includes previous Shepard-produced singles ‘Local Time,’ ‘Seaside Panic Room’ and ‘N.A.W.’ which were all originally released under the moniker Dec. 99th. The recently released single ‘HYMN,’ despite also bearing the name, is not included.

Look at the artwork and tracklist below and listen to December 99th exclusively via Tidal on December 9.



01. ‘N.A.W.’
02. ‘Blade In The Pocket’
03. ‘SPESH’
04. ‘Local Time’
05. ‘Tall Sleeves’
06. ‘Seaside Panic Room’
07. ‘Shadow In the Dark’
08. ‘It Goes’
09. ‘Special Dedication’



Share Tweet