Moodymann's Mahogani label to release J Dilla's <i>Lost Tapes</i>

Moodymann’s Mahogani label will release another posthumous J Dilla release, Dilla Lost Tapes.

Lost Tapes follows last year’s Mahogani-housed Dillatroitand crams a hefty 20 tracks onto two sides of vinyl. Although Dilla is best known as part of the hip-hop world – through his work as part of Slum Village, solo albums and productions for Busta Rhymes, Phat Kat and more – his connections to house music also run deep, and he worked with Moodymann, Andres, Amp Fiddler and more in his time (it’s worth reading FACT’s 2012 interview with Andres, where the house veteran talks in depth about recording with Dilla, and this interview with Dilla’s mother, Maureen Yancy, where she talks Omar-S and Moody).

Dilla Lost Tapes will be released on April 10 as one of several Dilla projects due this year, including a release of The Diary, a vocal album, and this documentary.

A1. I’m Back Nickl
A2. Dilla Beats 2
A3. 73 Soundtrack
A4. Slow as Trick
A5. Monkies N Car
A6. Token Jazz Hour
A7. Videogame 1
A8. Aahhh
A9. Still Laffin
A10. Session 4
B1. Licking
B2. Here We Go Again
B3. 3 Round Da Corner
B4. Me2
B5. Get Da Negga
B6. Havn Some Fun
B7. Halloween
B8. Clap For Me
B9. 9 No? Pleas
B10. Go Get Em



Share Tweet