Terrence Dixon to release Theater Of A Confused Mind LP on Rush Hour

The Detroit producer returns to his Population One alias.

Despite announcing his retirement back in April, techno mainstay Terrence Dixon will return with a new album on Rush Hour Recordings next month.

Theater Of A Confused Mind is his second full-length as Population One, following 1994’s Unknown Black Shapes. Samples of all eight tracks can be heard on Rush Hour’s website, while album opener ‘Out Of Control’ is streaming below in full.

The veteran producer’s latest album Badge of Honor came out at the tail-end of 2013, while in 2012 he released one of the best albums of the year in the shape of From The Far Future Pt. 2 and launched his own label Reduction to house Population One releases.

Dixon maintained a relatively low profile for much of his career, lurking in the shadow of like-minded minimalists Jeff Mills and Robert Hood, but more recently his brand of frazzled, immersive techno has influenced younger producers like Actress. Announcing his departure from music earlier this year, he simply stated: “I’m retired after 20 years of making music. Thank you”. [via RA]



01 Out Of Control
02 Code Urgent
03 For Only You
04 Battle For Space
05 Inner City Circus
06 All Together
07 My Own Shadow
08 All Of A Sudden



Share Tweet