Fresh mutations from the Portuguese scene.

We’ve been closely following the rise of Príncipe over the past few years, the Lisbon label home to batida’s most influential and innovative figures, from DJ Marfox and DJ Nigga Fox to next gen DJs like Nidia Minaj. Following a label compilation and Marfox’s practically perfect Chapa Quente EP earlier this year, the label has announced its next releases from two established acts.

DJ Nervoso is one of the most established artists on the scene, part of the original clan (with Marfox, DJ N.K. and more) behind the seminal 2006 DJs Do Guetto compilation, re-released by Príncipe in 2013. After appearing on Warp’s Cargaa series last year he’s now got his first proper solo release lined up, the six-track DJ Nervoso EP. Hear the sparse and raw ‘Ah Ah’ below.

Hardware-heavy trio Niagara are back with their third release on Príncipe following the launch of their own Ascender label last year. The four-track São João Baptista EP is led by ‘Asa’, a trippy house jam stacked with weird percussion sounds – hear that one below.

Both EPs are out on October 28 on 12″ and digital with hand-painted artwork by Márcio Matos.

Listen to DJ Marfox’s FACT mix and rewind to Robert Barry’s 2013 feature on the sound of Lisbon’s ghettos.

DJ Nervoso tracklist:

A1. ‘Vuto’
A2. ‘Ah Ah’
A3. ‘Avacs’
B1. ’27aca’
B2. ‘Djj’
B3. ‘KUIA’

São João Baptista tracklist:

A1. ‘Asa’
A2. ‘IV’
B1. ‘Amarelo’
B2. ‘Laranja’



Share Tweet