FACT Magazine: Music News, New Music.

Zola Jesus to release album of collaborations with JG Thirlwell, Versions

Use your ← → arrow keys to navigate
  • published
    10 Jun 2013
  • tags
    JG Thirlwell
    Zola Jesus
  • share

Zola Jesus to release album of collaborations with JG Thirlwell, <em>Versions</em>

The recordings from last year’s Guggenheim performance will be released in August.

In advance of last year’s performance at New York’s Guggenheim Museum, Nika Roza Danilova recruited no wave / industrial pioneer JG Thirlwell to arrange her songs for a quartet. Recordings of that show will be released on August 19 via Sacred Bones as Versions, and limited copies will come with a bonus DVD.

Versions is about the bone of the music; taking approximations from past records and turning them inside out. With all framework exposed, the songs are given a new medium in which to evolve and bloom into their own tiny worlds,” says Danilova.

In an interview with FACT last year, Danilova opened up about the performance. “Oh god, playing at the Guggenheim was life-affirming. For the first time I felt proud of what I was doing. I felt like I was doing it right. I cried during that performance, I could barely hold it together,” she admitted. “From being in that room built by Frank Lloyd Wright, to looking behind me and seeing JG conduct the wonderful Mivos Quartet playing arrangements of songs I wrote alone in my bedroom when I was 19. It was surreal.”

Watch footage of the performance below, along with the cover art and tracklisting for Versions. [via Pitchfork]

01 Avalance (Slow)
02 Fall Back
03 Hikikomori
04 In Your Nature
05 Seekir
06 Sea Talk
07 Night
08 Run Me Out
09 Collapse
10 Avalanche [Bonus


FACT is the UK's best online music magazine and home to the weekly FACT mix series.
All content © 2012-2014 by The Vinyl Factory. All rights reserved.