First acts announced for Yoko Ono's Meltdown Festival

Yoko Ono will curate this year’s edition of Meltdown Festival.

Each year, Meltdown Festival takes place at London’s Southbank Centre, and comes curated by an individual musician or set of musicians (past curators have includes Antony Hegarty, Massive Attack and The Kinks’ Ray Davies). The first names announced for Ono’s Meltdown make up a pretty diverse bunch: alongside Sonic Youth member and past collaborator Kim Gordon, Iggy & The Stooges, Patti Smith and The Banshees’ Siouxsie, fans will be treated to performances by hip-hop storyteller Immortal Technique, Peaces, Boy George, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Reggie Watts. Naturally, Yoko’s Plastic Ono Band also play.

Ono will also curate an extensive film programme at the BFI, including rare filmes by her and John Lennon, and a screening of Sergei M. Eisenstein’s 1925 film Battleship Potemkin, which presents the film with the Pet Shop Boys / Dresdner Sinfoniker version of its soundtrack for the first time.

For more on the festival which spans June 14-23, head here.



Share Tweet