This week’s FACT mix comes from Alfred Darlington, a.k.a. Daedelus.

One of modern electronic music’s most reliable sages, Daedelus has been pushing his madcap takes on hip-hop, electronica and dance music since 2001. He’s released on a variety of labels – amongst them Ninja Tune, Warp, Plug Research, Brainfeeder and Stones Throw – which serves to reflect his own musical range: Daedelus releases, in the past, have ranged from fizzing house (2007’s ‘Fair Weather Friends’), to oddball jazz and hip-hop (2002’s Invention), through to collaborative computer folk (2009’s The Long Lost, recorded with Darlington’s wife Laura) and beyond. Way, way beyond, in fact.  He’s not someone who likes to sit still, and sitting’s probably not too comfortable in those tight suits anyway.

Darlington certainly doesn’t sit still on his FACT mix. Opening on Bone Thugs-N-Harmony’s classic alarm clock anthem ‘1st of the Month’, it flies through dreamy footwork from Lil Jabba and Young Smoke, bouncing club cuts from Machinedrum, DJ Deeon and Kyle Hall, hip-hop from a Tribe Called Quest and Dead Prez… and you know what, this is pointless. There’s pretty much everything here, even Sonic Youth, and whereas in the hands of an amateur, it would sound like a complete mess, Daedelus makes it seamless and like stepping into a dream.

Daedelus will be playing at South London club Hidden on Friday June 8, with support from Dorian Concept, Cooly G and Braiden, and he’ll also be stopping by at Glade (June 14-17). Go check him out – but not before you download this mix.

FACT mix 331 – Daedelus


1st of the Month – Bone Thugs and Harmony
Crew – Mono/poly
Act Stupid – BoeBoe
HighrGravity – Swarvy
Maven – Lil Jabba
Electric Relaxation – A Tribe Called Quest
Bounce Bang – Dj Deeon
Hard 2 Be – Machinedrum
Kaychunk – Kyle Hall
The Art Of Murder – Jonwayne
Clotting – Deft
Cybo – Bobby Tank
Dance 4 U (Kiff Remix) – Kiff The Producer
Veridis Quo – Daft Punk
My Time – Ann Steel
Curtains Don’t Talk (Daedelus Pacific Juke) – Janet Jackson / Beach Boys
Weight on the Moon (Dntel remix) – Adventure Time
Shift – Gumar
Sippin – Bames
Imagine3 – LDFD
Lyposuct – D.I.M. & Tai
Positif – Mr. Oizo
Palm Shade Tree – Morpheground
Codéine (instrumental) – TTC
The End – Milenese
Ooos and Aahhs (feat. Jesse Boykins III) – Theophilus London
Grimboh – Stagga
Unbelievable – Dj Clap
Another Girl – Jacques Greene
Fog – Portable Sunsets
It’s Bigger Than HipHop – Dead Prez
Space Muzik Pt. 3 – Young Smoke
Reaction Time (Daedelus Juke) – Calyx
Sugar Kane – Sonic Youth
Faux Art – Krampfhaft
Nothing Is Always The Same – Alex B
Fin De Siècle – Daedelus



Share Tweet