Teenage Engineering’s latest device generates visuals as well as sound.

The main announcement from Teenage Engineering at last week’s NAMM show was the expansion of its Pocket Operator family, but the Swedish company had another ace up its sleeve: the OP-Z synthesizer.

The form of the OP-Z is similar to the company’s OP-1 device, which fits a synth, sequencer, sampler and recorder into a compact shell. The OP-Z is not an update to the OP-1, but, according to Music Radar, “something totally different.”

The OP-Z’s unique selling point is what Teenage Engineering calls “video synthesis”, which allows the the OP-Z to display generated visuals on a monitor hooked up to the synth.

For those more concerned with how the device creates sound, it contains a 16-track multitimbral synth engine, and unlike the OP-1, has wireless capabilities. It’s still in the prototype stages so there’s no information on release date or price, but you can sign up for updates at the Teenage Engineering website.

Watch the OP-Z in action below via Cuckoo Music.



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp