Mixes I by I 01.06.20

FACT mix 760: Zoë Mc Pherson

A bracing set of adventurous club music and experimental sounds.

Zoë Mc Pherson is a producer, sound designer, live performer and DJ based in Berlin who creates “fucked up rhythms” from mangled field recordings. She’s also a multimedia artist who creates audiovisual works with frequent collaborator, visual artist and director Alessandra Leone.

Mc Pherson’s new album, States of Fugue – which is one of the year’s most adventurous club records – inaugurates a new “hybrid label” called SFX that aims to release not only music, but “objects and experiences” across various mediums.

SFX’s next release is a 15-minute edit of ‘Silent movement’, a spontaneous AV piece that was initially commissioned by Lafayette Anticipations Paris for its lifetime project. The video is made from video and photography recorded by both artists on the road, with the soundtrack recorded using voice and modular synth.

Mc Pherson’s FACT mix focuses mainly on recent releases by her friends, unreleased or forthcoming tracks, with a taste on what’s coming up on SFX, including John Object’s contribution to the platform’s Xquisite Force project and Klahrk & Lighght’s ‘The Motherfuckin Mountaintop’.

“The mix recording is pretty spontaneous, two CDJs, I wanted a live feel to it, ‘cus we don’t have this anymore,” Mc Pherson says. “So I didn’t overwork it to be all glossy and perfect, f**** that.” Believe us when we say this is one you’ll want to play loud.

Find Zoë Mc Pherson and SFX’s music at Bandcamp, and find a list of tracks on the mix with purchase links on this Buy Music Club playlist.


Zoë Mc Pherson – ‘Silent movement’ (unreleased)
Ben Vince – ‘Reality, on demand’ (unreleased)
Phew – ‘Cheers’
J E L L V A K O – ‘D O S I’
John Object – ‘Xquisite Force’ (forthcoming on SFX)
Pessimist & Holsten – ‘The Riot Tune’ (forthcoming on Hotline Recordings)
Flore – ‘Coded Language’ (3Phaz Remix)
Ice Eyes – ‘Maps of Despair’ (forthcoming on Ernest D. Tapes)
Zebra Katz, ShyGirl – ‘LICK IT N SPLIT’
DJ Ape & DJ Oa$is – ‘A1’ (Fuckpunk001)
A. Fruit – ‘Promises’
D:ma – ‘2. 5 rework 2’
Elvin Brandhi – ‘The old police house live!!!!!!’ (unreleased)
Robin Stewart – ‘Eat Grass’
Metrist – ‘QQraasi Qraas’ (forthcoming on Timedance)
Monotronique – ‘Fly like that’
El irreal Veintiuno – ‘Demagogia’ (forthcoming on YuYu x Infinite Machine)
Tomás Urquieta – ‘Midake’ (forthcoming on YuYu x Infinite Machine)
Klahrk & Lighght – ‘The Motherfuckin Mountaintop’ (forthcoming on SFX)
MOD-COMM 81 – ‘Digital’
E-Unity – ‘Tallarita’
CV & JAB – ‘Pungent Lake’
CV & JAB – ‘Out of office’
Tell Mama – ‘Unloved’
Chouk Bwa & The Ångstromers – ‘Kay Marasa Dub’
Zoë Mc Pherson – ‘Untitled’ (unreleased)
Ugne&Maria – ‘Un ptit extra’ (unreleased)
Arad Acid – ‘Torqued Light’
Zoë Mc Pherson – ‘Tenace (dogs road)’
Janet Jackson – ‘Twisted Elegance’

Dijit – ‘Babaakh’
&apos – ‘SC_101101_000029’ (unreleased)
KMRU – ‘ib07’
Dive Reflex Service – ‘You Are Here’ (forthcoming on Limbo Tapes)
Comptesse de Brestot – ‘Je te vois encore mais laisse moi dormir’ (unreleased)

Listen next: FACT mix 759: J. Albert



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp