Jim O’Rourke has produced a Burt Bacharach tribute album, released this month through Japanese label AWDR [via TwentyFourBit].

O’Rourke – an iconic experimental musician known for collaborating with the likes of Christian Fennesz, Sonic Youth and Peter Rehberg, as well as producing classic albums by Wilco, Stereolab, Joanna Newsom and many more – has long harboured a soft spot for the veteran American songwriter, recording a version of his ‘Something Big’ in a ravishing arrangement on the 1999 album Eureka. Here he helms a collection of eleven new covers, with contributions from Boredoms’ Yoshimi, Sonic Youth’s Thurston Moore, Wilco drummer Glenn Kotche and others.

O’Rourke – who currently resides in Japan – not only produces and sings on the album, entitled All Kinds of People ~Love Burt Bacharach~, but plays an array of instruments including guitar, banjo, keyboards, bass, harpichord. He’ll also be performing it live in Tokyo (April 15) and Osaka (April 18) with Kotche and other “special guests”.

1. Close To You (Haruomi Hosono)
2. Always Something There To Remind Me (Thurston Moore)
3. Anonymous Phone Call (Jim O’Rourke)
4. After The Fox (Akira Sakata, Masaya Nakahara)
5. You’ll Never Get To Heaven (Aoyama Youiti)
6. Do You Know The Way To San Jose (Kahimi Karie)
7. Don’t Make Me Over (Kosaka Tadashi, Jim O’Rourke)
8. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head (Koike Mitsuko)
9. I Say A Little Prayer (Yoshimi)
10. Trains And Boats And Planes (Jim O’Rourke)
11. Walk On By (Donna Taylor)



Share Tweet