Ricardo Villalobos [above] and Max Loderbauer will rework legendary jazz and classical label ECM’s back catalogue across a full album.

This project has been in the works for a while now, but we now have some more concrete information: it will be a double-CD release spanning 17 tracks, and includes reworks of Arvo Pärt, Christian Wallumrød, Alexander Knaifel and more. Release date is penciled in for June 20. No artwork is available as yet.

ECM was formed by Manfred Eicher in 1969, and has released over a thousand albums in its time. Villalobos is a famed fan of the label, and DJed at their 40th anniversary party in 2008. Loderbauer, meanwhile, will be familiar to many for his work with Sun Electric, NSI. and the Moritz Von Oswald Trio.

Title – Composer
1 Reblop – Wallumrød/Villalobos/Loderbauer
2 Recat – Wallumrød/Villalobos/Loderbauer
3 Resvete – Knaifel
4 Retimeless* – Abercrombie/Villalobos/Loderbauer
5 Reemergence – Vitous/Villalobos/Loderbauer
6 Reblazhenstva – Knaifel
7 Reannounce – Sclavis/Villalobos/Loderbauer
8 Recurrence – Brederode
9 Requote – Wallumrød/Villalobos/Loderbauer

Title – Composer
1 Replob – Wallumrød/Villalobos/Loderbauer
2 Reshadub – Giger/Villalobos/Loderbauer
3 Rebird – Motian/Villalobos/Loderbauer
4 Retikhiy – Knaifel arr. Villalobos/Loderbauer
5 Rekondakion – Pärt
6 Rensenada** – Maupin/Villalobos/Loderbauer
7 Resole – Knaifel
8 Redetach – Wallumrød/Orning/Henriksen/Larsen//Villalobos/Loderbauer

* feat. Cassy (voice)
**feat. Achil (electronics)



Share Tweet