Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

Matchless digital manipulator Fennesz has retouched the centrepiece of Apparat’s The Devil’s Walk.

For all its beguiling moments, Apparat’s most recent album often veered a little too close to schmaltz. ‘The Devil’s Walk’ was one of the more successful tracks, Apparat’s over-earnest melody redeemed by his dense, twisting instrumental. Self-Titled has drawn attention to Fennesz‘s reinterpretation of the track.

If the original was perhaps a little too gossamer for some, Fennesz’s rework brings the scuzz. The Austrian swathes the whole piece in a squall of feedback and flecks the melody with fragments of digital grit. Amidst the noise, Apparat’s pock-marked vocal line becomes all the more triumphal. The outcome recalls the beautifully damaged melodies of Fennesz’ landmark Endless Summer.




Share Tweet