Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

Deerhoof have always exploited the thin, permeable membrane between the charmingly saccharine and the bracingly angular.

The title of the band’s latest LP, Breakup Song, may suggest a bias towards the former, but the first full track to emerge from the record suggests that they’re still quixotically walking that tightrope.

As we reported a little while ago, the band’s drummer Greg Saunier described the new LP as “a sensational record of Cuban-flavored party-noise-energy music”. We couldn’t think of a better way to describe ‘The Trouble With Candyhands’ ourselves, and we’re paid to do this. Satomi Matsuzaki’s sing-song melodies are also – as always – fiendishly catchy, so be warned: you’ll be coming back to this one a few times.

Breakup Song is due out on ATP Recordings on September 24.



Share Tweet