The San Fran producer continues to rattle cages.

Matrixxman made his name as one half of 5kinandbone5, a West Coast duo whose music ranged from 2-step and R&B hybrids to rattling rap beats (most notably on the backing to Le1f’s ‘Wut’.) Despite the success the group found in a short space of time, they dissolved in 2013 and Matrixxman has been rattling out records since – appearing on labels like Dekmantel, Spectral Sound, Unknown to the Unknown and Delft, though this summer he settled on Ghostly International to release his debut album Homesick. 

Although Homesick is a techno record at its heart (albeit one that draws heavily from industrial and electro), it also marks Matrixxman’s attempt to push against the genre’s boundaries – or explore its possibilities, depending on your perspective. “The whole reason I’m doing an artistic pursuit is so I can do what the fuck I want to do,” he told FACT earlier this year. “I’m hellbent on eschewing expectation where possible. My whole approach is distinctly subversive at its core. Too many people get comfortable in their safe zones. And while I’m getting comfortable settling into the confines of techno, I’m still trying to fuck it up as much as possible.”

His FACT mix nods to the techno gods at times (Plastikman, Hood) but generally keeps things weird and obscure, cribbing gems from Johannes Hell, Ground Loop, Adbdulla Rashim and more. Homesick is out now through Ghostly International.

01. Dorian Gray – II Richiamo ad Osiride
02. Apathism – Twelve
03. Altstadt Echo – Modern Cathedrals Pt. 3 (Luigi Tozzi Remix)
04. Andrea Belluzi – Anklast
05. Takaaki Itoh – Error Polynomial
06. Nay – Answer
07. Thomas Hoffknecht – O2
08. Robert Hood – Omega (Alive)
09. Johannes Heil – Scene 5
10. D-Leria – Premonition (D-Leria Rework)
11. Ground Loop – And Your Horse
12. Abdulla Rashim – Separation of Senses
13. Arnaud Le Texier – Synthese (Unam Zetineb Remix)
14. Mary Velo – Drone
15. Dirty Basscore – 0815
16. Plastikman – Spaz
17. Von Grall – No Contact
18. Staffan Linzatti – The Slight But Dramatic Difference
19. Johannes Heil & Markus Suckut – Exile 03 B
20. Matrixxman – Invocations
21. BNJMN – Microgravity



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp