FACT Magazine: Music News, New Music.

El-P announces new solo album

Use your ← → arrow keys to navigate
  • His first since '07.
  • published
    9 Mar 2012
  • tags
  • share

El-P has announced his first solo album since 2007′s I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead*.

The New York rapper and producer was a founding member of one of hip-hop most iconic groups, Compamy Flow, and following the unit’s demise in 2001 (they’ve since reformed for live shows) formed Definitive Jux, home of Aesop Rock, Cannibal Ox, Cage and more and perhaps the defining label of the early noughties underground hip-hop movement that also starred the likes of anticon and Rhymesayers.

Titled Cancer for Cure, El-P’s new album will be released through Fat Possum in May, and features guest spots for Interpol’s Paul Banks, Danny Brown, Killer Mike, Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire and (through samples) sadly deceased Def Jux artist Camu Tao, to whom the album is a dedication.

In other El-P news, he’s produced Killer Mike’s most recent album R.A.P. Music. FACT’s Mr. Beatnick interviewed El when Company Flow reformed last year – if you know what’s good for you then you’ll read that piece here, preferably while downloading ‘The Full Retard’, a track from Cancer for Cure, below.

El-P – ‘The Full Retard’

*Not counting the Weareallgoingtoburninhell series.



FACT is the UK's best online music magazine and home to the weekly FACT mix series.
All content © 2012-2014 by The Vinyl Factory. All rights reserved.