FACT Magazine: Music News, New Music.

Polish up-and-comer The Phantom readies cassette album: stream a track inside

Use your ← → arrow keys to navigate
  • published
    24 Sep 2012
  • tags
    The Phantom
  • share

Up-and-coming Polish producer The Phantom has impressed with his releases on the Silverback label, and will now release his first album of sorts, MC1. 

Designed as a precursor to a full long-player in 2013, MC1 “started as a soundtrack project, but the idea slowly evolved into an autonomous piece of music” that “encouraged The Phantom  to fully realise some of his cinematic tropes present in his club work”. Tangerine Dream and the score for Manhunter are cited as major influences, while the music is “often limited to a synthetic imitation of strings and a piano echoing the main riffs.”

Limited to 200 cassette copies housed in latex-covered cases, MC1 will be released by Sangoplasmo Records this October. You can stream a track from it, “Arctic (Cassette Mix)’, below.

1. Midnight Lover 1
2. Arctic (Cassette Mix)
3. Midnight Lover 2
4. Beach Theme
5. God Told Me To


FACT is the UK's best online music magazine and home to the weekly FACT mix series.
All content © 2012-2014 by The Vinyl Factory. All rights reserved.