The musician’s solo and soundtrack work gets a much needed spotlight.

In the last few years, Mute have maintained the legacy of krautrock legends Can through deluxe reissues. Unreleased material was collected on Lost Tapes which was followed by a full series of album reissues. Now they’re turning their attention to the post-Can solo career of founder Irmin Schmidt with Electro Violet.

The 12xCD set charts Schmidt’s dynamic solo work which begins with a trio of solo releases that stretch 10 years, 1981’s Toy Planet, 1987’s Musk At Dusk, and 1991 Impossible Holidays. Following those, the set jumps to his 2000 “fantasy opera”, Gormenghast, and a pair of collaborative albums with electronic composer Jono Podmore, Masters of Confusion and Axolotl Eyes. To round out the set, Electro Violet also contains Schmidt’s six volume Film Musik Anthology, the final disc of which will be released for the first time.

In addition to the music, the set contains a 40-page booklet along with liner notes from Schmidt and Max Dax. Electro Violet is out November 20, but you can pre-order a copy autographed by Schmidt from Mute’s store now.

Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy